Ballet is everywhere… and some clips!

Yesterday I went to an academic conference on Extremism and the Media. It was great. I left feeling motivated, inspired and hopeful.

On one of the tea breaks, I started chatting with these two girls, and turns out one had done ballet for 15 years, and the other’s mom had been a professional ballet dancer in South Africa for over 20 years.

Turns out ballet really is everywhere!

**

I leave you with a couple of wonderful ballet clips from the Vienna Philharmonic New Year’s Concert.

This first one is from the 2011 concert. It is Strauss’s An der schonnen blauen Donau, featuring some wonderful dancing. The first time I saw this, I got teary eyed. I could watch this forever. It reminds me of home.

 

 

By the way, that gorgeous building is the Musikverein. In fact, this is part 4 of 6. so please go watch all of it! I also love part 1 & 2!!

 

This next one is also lovely. From 2010’s concert. It is Strauss’s Morgenblatter. And the costumes are by Valentino.

 

 

Have a lovely weekend everyone!

8 thoughts on “Ballet is everywhere… and some clips!

  1. Oh I love the Vienna Philharmonic New Year’s Concert! As a kid I used to to watch it every single year. And Nutcracker over Christmas time. It was a yearly thing that I did and was allowed to do… as it was a time of only one TV in the house.
    Thank you for sharing these links. I will marvel them many more times as I will add them to my ” Ballet “- folder.

    Have happy happy weekend!!!

    • Hey!! It is so good to see you here!! I’ve missed you 🙂 I am so glad I have found those videos too, I have missed the New Year’s Concert so much!!

  2. These clips are amazing. I love watching them live every year. And of course the music is so good. I love “An der schonnen blauen Donau”. I actually danced it once when I studied ballet long ago. It was so cool!
    And Valentino’s dresses, simply wonderful.
    =D

  3. Happy New Year, Nina!

    I always watch this concert live, it´s a tradition. Along with the brunch and mimosas 🙂

    The ballet is of course the best part! I love how there are always surprises.. Guest stars like Manuel Legris or Nicolas Le Riche, Dorothee Gilbert and many more. And the divine Valentino gowns, sigh.. Would in general love to wear any of those Viennese Waltz -inspired long tutus 🙂

    After watching these, I had to pinch myself and look out of the window. Phew, no snow but summer still. And der Schönen blauen Donau..

    Thanks for posting these 🙂

    • Oooh mimosas! A lovely tradition! These clips tug at my heart really, because they just make me think of Vienna, and I miss it so much!! Did I ever tell you I was a ‘debutante’ in one ball during the ball season in Vienna? It was just for a school ball, and it was hugely embarrassing, but my dress was lovely hehehe

      I miss snow….

      Thank you for liking them and for your lovely comment! 🙂

What do you think?

