Dream Triple Bill

I love short ballets and think they can be just as magical as full-evening ones. After one of the most recent Royal Ballet triple bills, a discussion about dream triple bills started on the Guardian review’s thread. This discussion was again picked up o the most recent (and biggest) thread.

I have many dream triple bills actually, but this is the one I have been thinking about the most:

La Valse

Choreographed by Sir Frederick Ashton, with music by Ravel, I saw La Valse for the first time last October. I thought it was incredibly dreamy, romantic, and somehow dark…. as if we were watching ghosts, eternally dancing in a haunted ballroom…. Judith Mackrell at the Guardian called it “ a whirl of demonic romanticism“, Luke Jennings mentioned its “edge-the-abyss atmosphere” and Ismene Brown thought it was “privately erotic” and compared it to old Hollywood glamour and Fred & Ginger. I must say I do not fully understand it yet, but I know I really like it. Must see it again I think 🙂

 

Ballo della Regina

Lovely, lovely, lovely. I saw it for the first time this May with Marianela Nunez and Sergei Pollunin. It was actually the Royal Ballet’s premiere of Balanchine’s Ballo. It was lovely ( I have said that before, haven’t I?).  It is supposed to be an abstract ballet, with music from Verdi’s Don Carlos. But I couldn’t help but see a story in it. I thought it was fairy court, with Nunez and Polunin as the Queen and King, celebrating the beginning of Spring….

 

 

Elite Syncopations

One of my all time absolute favourites! I actually have this on DVD and watched it ten minutes ago.  If you don’t have the MacMillan RB Triple Bill DVD, please buy it when you can. I am not sure how I feel about The Judas Tree, but I ADORE Elite Syncopations, and love Concerto.  I don’t know if it is the crazy costumes, Joplin’s music  how all the corps participate, or the sheer joy in the dancing, this is a spectacular ballet, and a fantastic way to end this Dream Triple Bill!

 

 

For me, this would be an evening purely about the joy and  celebration of dance… I hope you have a good evening too!

***

So what is your dream triple bill? Please share! I would love to hear about it 🙂

2 thoughts on “Dream Triple Bill

  1. I think a dream 3bill would be Song of the Earth / Symphonic Variations / Serenade or Symphony in C (MacMillan/Ashton/Balanchine) and a dream 2bill would be Dances at a Gathering / Russian Seasons (Robbins / Ratmansky)

  2. Oh I love your 2bill! I also love Bag Lady E’s suggestion of pairing up La Sylphide with Kobborg’s Napoli divertissements.

    In some places, Giselle is presented as a 2bill. What do you think could be the accompanying ballet?

What do you think?

