A summer without ballet

So yes… The Royal ballet season is over, and they are off on their tour soon. I cannot afford to see the Mariinsky and there is a pressing need for me to find money to pay the PhD fees. This means I will have no ballet until September. October to be precise since I am not sure I will be able to see Jewels…

Major ballet withdrawal!

But yes,  I will just have to rely on my vast library of ballet DVDs to get me through! Thanks to all the amazing friends and family who contributed to this collection

 

 

There are a few more over here:

And a few more lying around the place.

My wonderful hubby got me this as one of our anniversary presents:

Still in packaging. Will hopefully have time to watch it very soon! you know, when my kitchen ceiling stops linking,

I know this sounds lame beyond belief, but ballet means a lot to me, and I miss it.

OK, I can prove to you that I am not entirely lame: I can quote every West Wing episode. No? Still think I am lame? That is probably true, but also nerdtastic!

4 thoughts on “A summer without ballet

  1. I’m there right now. I had my last ballet lessons last Saturday and I won’t have any more ballet until September. People who don’t like ballet can’t understand how we feel, but it’s so sad…! Actually I’m looking forward to start Uni again, just because I want to go back to my ballet studios…

    I also have a nice ballet DVD collection, but yours is larger. Next week I’m watching RB’s Manon with my mum. She enjoys ballet a lot, but she hasn’t seen this one yet. I want her to discover my favourite ballet ever ^^

    • I haven’t had classes for a while, but hope to start again next week! I can’t wait. And I am so glad you understand. I cannot wait for the end of September! Not only does the RB new season starts, but I start university again!

      My collection is a bit imbalanced. I have A LOT of Royal Ballet videos, but am constantly on the hunt for other companies’ dvds… Any suggestions?

      It is interesting that you said that you like Manon. That is the one ballet I have trouble with… Please tell me why it is your favourite! I am trying to sort my issues with it hehehehe

      • Maybe it is my favourite because it’s Tamara Rojo’s best one (and I love her). I mean, her performance in Manon is brilliant. Her acting’s perfect and she makes me cry every single time I watch it.
        Actually that ballet is not visually spectacular, as can be Swan Lake (<3), but the story and the characters are amazing, and MacMillan's choreography is perfection (look at those pas de deux!!!). ^^

        Suggestions…! Actually my collection's also a little imbalanced! I love the RB so much that I can't help buying their performances. But I also have Swan Lake by Mariinsky Theatre (Lopatkina and Korsuntsev) which is awesome, and Don Quixote (Novikova and Sarafanov), also by Mariinsky, which is FUN. She's not the best ballerina ever, but the DVD is good.

        I also have La Bayadère by the Teatro alla Scala. A very good one too. Sleeping Beauty by Ballet de l'Opéra de Paris… And some others, but… I keep buying RB DVDs because they are awesome, and that's all, lol!

        • Tamara is not my favourite dancer, but I do love how articulate, elegant, and lovely she is. Her Juliet is indescribable! Ooooh, I don’t have that Don Q! I must buy it! How do you like BOP’s Beauty? I have never seen it! I

What do you think?

